Its all about Indian Premier League(IPL)

By -

its all about Indian Premier League (IPL)

Indian Premier League (IPL) is 20-20 cricket tournament which is conducted between various franchise teams and is supervised by the BCCI. IPL started in year 2008 and since then it is normally held every year in the month of April-May. The tournament is highly admired for its commercial success and it is one of the most watched 20-20 cricket leagues in the world. Live rights of the tournament are syndicated across the globe and it became the first sporting event which is broadcasted live on sites like YouTube.

There are eight different franchises which participate in IPL every year –

  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Kings XI Punjab
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Rajasthan Royals
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Delhi Daredevils

There were three more teams which participated in few IPL seasons but because of financial constraints their membership was terminated. These teams were Kochi Tuskers Kerala, Pune Warriors India and Deccan Chargers.

After the announcement of IPL, the first auction for players happened in February 2008. During auction process, IPL gave ‘Icon Status’ to some of the players. These are the players which are not bid upon and they mostly play for their respective home city.

The tournament is organized in such a way that each of the team plays two games against other 7 teams and the top four ranking teams move to the play-offs round which is also referred as Semi-Final round. IPL games utilize the television timeouts judiciously, so there is hardly any limit on the teams to finish their innings in specific time. However, umpires can charge penalty if they found any team is misusing this benefit for its own comfort.

The year 2014 is the 7th season of IPL which is held in two legs because of elections in India. The first 20 matches were conducted in Dubai and then the IPL moved to India to rejuvenate its fans. Out of the 6 IPL seasons conducted so far, Chennai Super kings won the title 2 times, while Mumbai Indian, Rajasthan Royals, Kolkata Knight Riders managed to grab it for single time each. Other teams such as Kings XI Punjab and Dare Devils are still trying their best to hold the trophy at least once.

Prev postNext post


If you want to improve your life, you will enjoy our posts. We cover everything from technology product reviews, to international travel advice, to health and fitness tips. Leading a healthy, happy lifestyle is important if you want to be around for your loved ones for many years. At Bug My Day, we post articles that will help you improve every facet of your life. Our health and fitness tips are designed to be easily incorporated into your everyday routine. Our international travel advice will make preparing for your next vacation abroad a breeze. Our technology product reviews can help you select the perfect gadgets for your household. As you can tell, we work hard to cover topics that are pertinent in today’s world. If you ever have suggestions about issues we should be covering or questions about something that has already been covered, send us an email. Bug My Day’s staff members love hearing from readers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *